The Patient Institute Physician in Training Leadership and Professionalism Award

“Wherever the art of medicine is loved, there is also a love of humanity.”
– Hippocrates

Since its founding more than a decade ago, The Patient Institute’s mission has been to educate and empower patients and caregivers to more effectively navigate the healthcare system.

The Patient Institute recognizes student doctors/medical students as current and future caregivers to patients. In order to encourage and recognize the best professional behavior in student doctors/medical students as a foundation for future performance, the Board of Directors of the Patient Institute has authorized the creation of the first annual Patient Institute Leadership and Professionalism Award.

These awards are to be awarded to no more than 20% of the graduating class based on criteria established by the medical school and approved by the PI Board through its designee, the current PI Chair. This award does not require an application. The medical school or graduate medical education institution will nominate and select the awardees via a peer-review process. Eligible awardees will be selected from the graduating medical school, residency, and fellowship classes.


University of the Incarnate Word School of Osteopathic Medicine

Marlena Alosi
Christina Barsoum
Shelby Brown
Sara Buckley
Stewart Caskey
Abeer Chohan
Edwin Davila
Jessica Gale
Jennifer Gaertner-Otto
Alexandra Green

Mary Hamblen
Lauren Hatherall
Tevon Hood
Anila Joseph
Catherine Kelly
Manojna Kintada
Sioned Kirkpatrick
Linh Luong
Caitlin Magargee
Samuel Mota-Martinez

Alisha Ness
Trung Nguyen
Ali Sawani
Shelby Spenrath
Reggie Taylor
Jacob Vosberg
Kevin Weisson
Nicole Wellman

Share This Page